Get your health question answered instantly from our pool of 18000+ doctors from over 80 specialties
154 Doctors Online

By proceeding, I accept the Terms and Conditions

Dr. Andrew Rynne
MD
Dr. Andrew Rynne

Family Physician

Exp 50 years

HCM Blog Instant Access to Doctors
HCM BlogQuestions Answered
HCM Blog Satisfaction

Are there alcohol products which are gluten free?

Answered by
Dr.
Dr. Shoaib Khan

General & Family Physician

Practicing since :2009

Answered : 9409 Questions

default
Posted on Fri, 29 May 2015 in Digestion and Bowels
Question: I am not a celiac but do experience some gluten sensitivity. My symptoms with it are more GI related. My question is regarding beer. I have been doing alot of research on the PPM of gluten in beer that is required for a product to be considered gluten free. There are actually some "gluten free" labeled beers that have less than 20 ppm of gluten while there are regular beers that have less (i.e. 10 ppm) of gluten but not labeled as gluten free.
Can someone with knowledge about the topic offer beer suggestions/guidelines on what is safe or less problematic? It is very confusing
doctor
Answered by Dr. Shoaib Khan 1 hour later
Brief Answer:
I hope I have helped to shed some light on the situation

Detailed Answer:
Hello sir and welcome.

Thank you for writing to us.

I have gone through your query with diligence and would like you to know that I am here to help. You have a very good question, and the answer is quite simple quite frankly.

The beer manufacturing industry has begun to cater to the needs of gluten intolerant individuals, but to be labeled 'gluten free', the manufacturing company needs to abide to the rules of the particular country. Some countries require to have less than 20 ppm (parts per million) gluten to be labelled 'gluten free', whereas some countries have allowed beer manufacturing countries to be labeled 'gluten free' only if they have absolutely no gluten.

So the beers that you have seen labelled 'gluten free' with less than 20 ppm gluten may be manufactured as per their guidelines and rules, whereas the others with less than 10 ppm gluten may still not be labeled 'gluten free' because it is still not permitted for them to be labeled 'gluten free' as per their rules, laws and guidelines.

I hope I have explained things in a manner best understood by you. Please feel free to write back to me for any further clarifications, I am always here to help.

Best wishes.
Above answer was peer-reviewed by : Dr. Chakravarthy Mazumdar
doctor
premium_optimized

The User accepted the expert's answer

Share on
Question is related to
Diseases and Conditions
Medical Topics ,  

Recent questions on  Gluten sensitivity

doctor1 MD

Hi:) for a few years now I have been getting migraines in the evenings frequently. I also have stomach issuess after eating things that contain...

doctor1 MD

Hi, I have coeliac disease and have been adhering to a gluten free diet for about a year now since I was diagnosed. I ve always had a problem with...

doctor1 MD

I have Epilepsy and Celiac Disease and it is very difficult to find gluten-free drugs that are generic (because of my co-pay/generic) that don t...

doctor1 MD

I recently just switched to a gluten free diet despite testing negative for celiac disease because my intestinal issues were so severe I thought I...

doctor1 MD

think I have gluten intolerance?

doctor1 MD

I have a continuos stomach ache, headache, low grade fever . I feel ok until I eat something. I have had a colonoscopy , blood tests, lipid tests...

doctor1 MD

I have had yellow stool for a couple months now. Should I be concerned?