Get your Health question answered in 3 easy steps
A Doctor will be with you shortly
Ask a Doctor Now
176 Doctors are Online

Infant with swollen gums, foul breath and gum bleeding. Gingivitis diagnosed. Need a second opinion

My 10 month old woke up one morning with red, swollen gums , foul-smelling breath, and whenever I try to brush her teeth , she cries and her gums start to bleed a little. Previously she had pearly white teeth which I brushed regularly. She is very cranky, no longer sleeps well at night, and isn t eating as much as normal. I took her to the E.R and was told she has gingivitis . I am seeking a second opinion. -Jasmine
Asked On : Tue, 19 Feb 2013
Answers:  7 Views:  94
Report Abuse
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+
Question is related to
Diseases and Conditions
Medical Topics
Dentist 's  Response
hello and welcome,
Gingivitis is the inflammation of the gums leading to redness , pain , bleeding , swelling of gums .
Infection of the gums leads to fowl mouth odour which is mainly caused due to deposition of bacterial plaque, calculus or other irritants like food debris.
your Baby is really very young and in her case , gingivitis is mainly because of stress due to improper sleep, poor oral hygiene and malnutrition.
i would suggest you to maintain her oral hygiene nicely by regular brushing and mouth rinsing with lukewarm saline water.
visit a dentist for clinical evaluation , a course of doxycycline for 3 to 5 days helps subside the symptoms but do consult a doctor before any medication.
i hope this helps,
take care.
Answered: Tue, 19 Feb 2013
I find this answer helpful

4 Doctors agree with this answer

Dentist Dr. Anshumala Singh's  Response
dear friend
your little one surely has gingivities which is causing bleeding whenever you try to brush. the features of gingivities are redness,swelling,pain and that area will have little higher temperature. now don't worry carefully observe it for two to three days for any changes in that. don't brush. you can use a cotton dipped in following solution and apply locally.use dilute solution for application.this will relief her from any further infection and gingivities will reduce in three to five days this could be natural process of teething. but if your problem does not subsidies even after this treatment , you feel no relief ; then you must visit your dentist for properly getting the gingiva cleaned which is very rare, it could be toothbrush trauma too on her soft gums.time being just give semisolid and very soft diet to little one
Rx
hexidine mouthwash 2% diluted with equal volume of water

than you
Answered: Tue, 19 Feb 2013
I find this answer helpful

1 Doctor agrees with this answer

Dentist Dr. Deepthi Reddy's  Response
Hi,
Thank you for the query.
Gingivitis at the age of 10 months suggests that it could be because of inadequate nutrition leading to vitamin deficiency( scurvy-vit C) or any bacterial or viral infection in the body can be the reason.
I would advise you to maintain proper oral hygiene and topical application of metrogyl-DG gel will help .
See your dentist for clinical examination and treatment plan accordingly.
Hope this information helps you.
Answered: Tue, 19 Feb 2013
I find this answer helpful

2 Doctors agree with this answer

Dentist Dr. Qazi Ammara's  Response
Hi,

Thanks for asking the query,

According to your clinical symptoms i suspect that you child is having inflammation of gums known as gingivitis this can be due to poor oral hygiene, plague and calculus deposition.
I would suggest you to maintain a good oral hygiene of your child take regular lukewarm saline rinses.
Take your child to the Dentist and get the checkup done, inculcate good oral hygiene in your child.
Start with a course of antibiotics and analgesic after consulting your dentist.
Maintain a good oral and general hygiene as your child is more prone to infections at this age.

Hope this helps out.

Regards...
Answered: Mon, 6 May 2013
I find this answer helpful
Dentist Dr. Qazi Ammara's  Response
Hi,

Thanks for asking the query,

According to your clinical symptoms i suspect that you child is having inflammation of gums known as gingivitis this can be due to poor oral hygiene, plague and calculus deposition.
I would suggest you to maintain a good oral hygiene of your child take regular lukewarm saline rinses.
Take your child to the Dentist and get the checkup done, inculcate good oral hygiene in your child.
Start with a course of antibiotics and analgesic after consulting your dentist.
Maintain a good oral and general hygiene as your child is more prone to infections at this age.

Hope this helps out.

Regards...
Answered: Mon, 6 May 2013
I find this answer helpful
Dentist Dr. Khushboo Bhatia's  Response
For successful treatment of gum diseases in children, early diagnosis is very important. If signs and symptoms of gum disease are present in child, then parents should take their kids to dentist. Parents should take their child to dentist for regular visits. Parents should reinforce good oral hygiene measures in their kids.To avoid gum diseases, it is important that child maintains good oral hygiene. Parents of child should also inculcate good oral hygiene habits in his child.If there is swelling of gums present, then to reduce swelling warm saline rinses can be done 2-3 times a day.Applying aloe vera over effected part may help.
Answered: Tue, 19 Feb 2013
I find this answer helpful

1 Doctor agrees with this answer

Dentist Dr. Neha Gupta's  Response
Hello,
Thanks for sharing your concern with us
Gingivitis is inflammation of the gums most commonly caused by a build up of dental plaque.
You're entitled to free dental care in pregnancy and for a year after your baby is born, so take full advantage of this. You may need regular visits to the hygienist if you have gingivitis.
my advice for you is to clean the gum pads of your baby with a clean gauze pad soaked in luke warm saline water and maintain the oral hygiene.
Sometimes because the teeth are trying to come out, there can be an abscess formed and so there could be bleeding n gingivitis
You can contact me again directly through my profile.
Regards.
Dr Neha Gupta
Dentist
Answered: Tue, 19 Feb 2013
I find this answer helpful
Disclaimer: These answers are for your information only and not intended to replace your relationship with your treating physician.
This is a short, free answer. For a more detailed, immediate answer, try our premium service [Sample answer]
 

 

Loading Online Doctors....
© Ebix, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
All the information, content and live chat provided on the site is intended to be for informational purposes only, and not a substitute for professional or medical advice. You should always speak with your doctor before you follow anything that you read on this website. Any health question asked on this site will be visible to the people who browse this site. Hence, the user assumes the responsibility not to divulge any personally identifiable information in the question. Use of this site is subject to our Terms & Conditions
Already Rated.
Your rating:

Ask a Doctor